Drunk Driving Penalties in Florida

The penalties for drunk driving in Florida depend on how many previous DUI convictions you have on the books. Fines, penalties and other outcomes for DUI convictions may include:

First offense Second offense Third offense Fourth offense
Fines $500-$1,000$1,000-$2,000$2,000-$5,000$2,000+
Imprisonment Six months or lessNine months or less12 months or lessFive years or less
Other Probation up to one year Felony

In the event of any of these convictions (first, second, third and so on), penalties will be determined by mandatory minimums established by statute. Your driver's license may be suspended, in addition to criminal penalties. For these reasons, it is important to work with a lawyer who will fight for the best outcome attainable in your case. Whenever possible, this should mean advocacy to have your charges reduced — or dismissed altogether if there is persuasive evidence to support it.

Whether your DUI arrest is a first, second or multiple, there is no substitute for an experienced, accomplished DUI defense attorney's diligent advocacy on your behalf. The vast majority of people who are arrested on suspicion of DUI the first time believe that they will never be arrested on these charges again — yet it does happen to quite a few drivers.

For these and other reasons, you should consider your first (or second) DUI arrest as an urgent legal challenge. If you are convicted, it sets the scene for a subsequent second (or third) DUI arrest. Each subsequent DUI conviction brings with it stiffer penalties and harsher overall outcomes. If you are concerned about what you may face as a Florida drunk driving penalty, lawyers at Delgado & Romanik can advise you according to your specific background and goals. We have offices in Daytona Beach, DeLand and Altamonte Springs.

Drunk Driving Penalties — Free Consultation And Payment Plan Options

In a free consultation, a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney at Delgado & Romanik in Daytona Beach can explain how our law firm can help you after a multiple DUI arrest. We have a variety of payment options, including credit cards, payment plans and assignments to offer.

Contact us by calling 386-492-8694 or by sending us an email to schedule a consultation.