Florida DUI Penalties Chart - Aaron Delgado & Associates

Florida DUI Penalties Chart

by Aaron Delgado
07/09/21 (Updated: 07/12/21)

In the state of Florida, DUI (Driving Under the Influence) laws require strict penalties for drivers found guilty of driving while intoxicated, whether it be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The penalties of a DUI can be significant, both in time, effort, and money to the convicted offender, including administrative penalties, like fines and suspension of driver’s license, to criminal penalties, such as jail time, probation, community service and more. Repeat DUI offenders, if convicted, are subject to increasingly harsher punishments. Learn more about the penalties that await DUI offenders in Florida with this helpful chart.

1

1st DUI Conviction

1 Year Suspended License

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver's license suspension/revocation: 180 days to 1 year
  • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
  • Administrative fee: $130.
  • Driver's license reinstatement fee:
    • Suspension: $45
    • Revocation: $75.
  • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device and fee of $12 (if granted a restricted driver's license).

Criminal Penalties

  • Fines of $500 to $1,000.
    • If you have a BAL of 0.15% or higher, or had a minor in the car, the fine will range between $1,000 and $2,000.
  • Community service. Mandatory 50 hours, or an additional fine equaling $10 per required community service hour.
  • Probation of no more than 1 year.
  • Jail time of up to 6 months. For BAL of 0.15% or higher, the sentence could last 9 months.
  • Vehicle impoundment for 10 days (not counted during your incarceration)
  • Ignition Interlock Device.
2

2nd DUI Conviction

Up To $4,000 Fine

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver's license suspension/revocation
    • Not within 5 years: 180 days to 1 year
    • Within 5 years: 5 years
  • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
  • Administrative fee: $130.
  • Driver's license reinstatement fee:
    • Suspension: $45
    • Revocation: $75.
  • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver's license.

Criminal Penalties

  • Fines of $1,000 to $2,000. For BAL of .0.15% or higher, or a minor in the car, minimum $2,000 to $4,000.
  • Jail time of not more than 9 months. A BAL of .0.15% or higher, or driving with a minor in the car, will require up to 12 months*.
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days.*
3

3rd DUI Conviction

Mandatory 30 Days in Jail

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver's license suspension/revocation
    • Not within 10 years: 180 days to 1 year.
    • Previous offense within 5 years: 5 years
    • Last 2 offenses within 10 years: 10 years
    • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
    • Administrative fee: $130.
    • Driver's license reinstatement fee:
      • Suspension: $45
      • Revocation: $75.
      • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
      • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver's license.

Criminal Penalties

  • Fines of $2,000 to $5,000. If your BAL was .0.15% or higher or you had a minor in the vehicle, the minimum fine is $4,000.
  • Jail time. Mandatory 30 days. Depending on previous convictions the maximum jail time is 12 months.*
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days.*
4

4th and Subsequent DUI Conviction

5 Years in Prison

Administrative Penalties

  • Driver's license suspension/revocation: 5 years (no hardship available)
  • DUI Program (if required) and fee: $15
  • Administrative fee: $130.
  • Driver's license reinstatement fee:
    • Suspension: $45
    • Revocation: $75
  • Maintain FR-44 for 3 years
  • Ignition Interlock Device: $12 if granted a restricted driver's license.

Criminal Penalties

  • Minimum $2,000 fine
  • Jail time up to 5 years

The best way to avoid a DUI is to simply never drink and drive. If you have had any drinks, and are contemplating grabbing your keys, please make use of our online BAC Calculator first (though this will only offer an estimation. We advise that you refrain from driving until completely sober). However, if you or a loved one are facing criminal charges after an arrest for DUI in Central Florida, the experienced Daytona Beach DUI attorneys at Aaron Delgado & Associates will aggressively fight to have your charges reduced or dismissed. Offering a proven track record of success, including 90% of our DUI clients having their charges reduced from a DUI to a less serious offense or had their charges dismissed altogether.

Free Consultation Start Your Case Online
386.222.6677