Florida DUI Penalties [Infographic] - Aaron Delgado & Associates

Florida DUI Penalties [Infographic]

by Aaron Delgado
03/09/20 (Updated: 04/06/20)

The State of Florida takes DUIs very seriously. A DUI is a criminal offense that carries severe penalties and will follow you around for the rest of your life. In addition, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was over 0.15, you will likely face enhanced DUI penalties. Here is a full breakdown of the penalties you may face if you’re convicted of a DUI in Florida.

DUI Penalties Infographic

DUI penalties infographic

1st Offense

If this is your first time being convicted of DUI, the penalties you may face include:

  • $500 to $1,000 Fine
  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • Up to 180 Days in Jail
  • 6-Month Driver’s License Suspension
  • 10-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 50 Hours of Community Service
  • Alcohol / Substance Abuse Education Course (ASEC): Level 1
  • Victim Awareness Program

Additionally, if your BAC was over 0.15, you will face enhanced fines and have an interlock device on your vehicle for six months.

2nd Offense Within 5 Years

A second DUI conviction within five years of your first conviction will result in:

  • $1,000 to $2,000 Fine
  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • 10 to 270 Days in Jail
  • 5-Year Driver’s License Suspension
  • No Hardship License for 1 Year
  • 30-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 1-Year Interlock Device
  • ASEC: Level 2
  • Victim Awareness Program

If your BAC was over 0.15, you will face enhanced fines and up to 364 days in jail.

2nd Offense Outside of 5 Years

  • $1,000 to $2,000 Fine
  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • 0 to 270 Days in Jail
  • 6- to 12-Month Driver’s License Suspension
  • No Hardship License
  • 10-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 1-Year Interlock Device
  • ASEC: Level 2
  • Victim Awareness Program

If your BAC was over 0.15, you will face enhanced fines and up to 364 days in jail.

3rd Offense Within 10 Years

If you receive a third DUI conviction within ten years, the offense is a possible felony and the penalties will be harsh. They include:

  • $2,000 to $5,000 Fine
  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • 30 to 364 Days in Jail
  • 10-Year Driver’s License Suspension
  • No Hardship License for 2 Years
  • 90-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 2-Year Interlock Device
  • ASEC: Level 2
  • Victim Awareness Program

If your BAC was over 0.15, your fines will be enhanced.

3rd Offense Outside of 10 Years

Even if your third DUI conviction occurs more than ten years from the first conviction, the penalties are harsh. They include:

  • $2,000 to $5,000 Fine
  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • 0 to 364 Days in Jail
  • 6- to 12-Month Driver’s License Suspension
  • No Hardship License
  • 10-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 2-Year Interlock Device
  • ASEC: Level 2
  • Victim Awareness Program

If your BAC was over 0.15, your fines will be enhanced.

4th Offense

A fourth DUI conviction is a felony, no matter how many years have passed since your initial DUI conviction. The penalties for a fourth DUI conviction include:

  • $2,000 to $5,000 Fine
  • Maximum 5 Years in Prison
  • Post-Prison Probation
  • Permanent Driver’s License Revocation
  • 10-Day Vehicle Impoundment
  • 2-Year Interlock Device (if ever able to obtain driver’s license again after 5 years)
  • ASEC: Level 2
  • Victim Awareness Program

If your BAC was over 0.15, your fines will be enhanced.

90%
Out of 325 DUI cases, 292 (90%) were reduced from a DUI to a less serious offense or had their charges dismissed!

Call a DUI Lawyer in Daytona Beach

In addition to the many penalties you may face if you’re convicted of a DUI in Florida, there are a number of collateral consequences of DUI that you will have to deal with as well—even if you are not convicted of driving under the influence. These are just some of the reasons many people who’ve been arrested for DUI seek a DUI lawyer who can help them get their DUI reduced or dismissed, if possible.

The first 24 hours after a DUI arrest are critical. If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence for alcohol, marijuana, or other drugs, our Florida DUI lawyers can help. At Aaron Delgado & Associates, we work around the clock to help those arrested for DUI in Daytona Beach, DeLand, and the surrounding areas fight the charges against them. If you need a Florida DUI attorney, please contact our office immediately. We are available 24/7 at 386-222-6677.

Additional DUI Resources

Free Consultation Start Your Case Online
386.222.6677