DUI Reductions [Infographic] - Aaron Delgado & Associates

DUI Reductions [Infographic]

by Aaron Delgado
02/24/20 (Updated: 03/23/20)

No two DUIs are the same, which is why the consequences of getting a DUI in Florida can vary significantly. In some cases, however, it may be possible to get a DUI dropped or reduced to another lesser charge. This is something you’ll want your lawyer to pursue if it’s possible for your case; the consequences of a DUI conviction are much more severe than the minor ramifications of a traffic violation.

At Aaron Delgado & Associates, our lawyers are often able to get DUI charges that cannot be dropped reduced to reckless driving, or “wet reckless.” In Florida, reckless driving will add four points to your license—a small price to pay compared to what happens when you get a DUI. Below you’ll find a breakdown of possible DUI charges and reductions in Florida.

DUI Reductions Infographic

DUI reductions infographic

Not Guilty / Dismissed

If you receive this verdict, we have good news: Your case is OVER! Either a jury found you not guilty, the Court dismissed the charge(s), or the State dropped the charge(s).

Reduction to Careless Driving

Careless driving is a civil infraction (rather than a criminal infraction) that carries a $166 fine, plus a $50 cost of prosecution and a $50 cost of investigation.

Reduction to Reckless “Dry” Driving

A DUI reduction to reckless “dry” driving will result in:

  • Up to 6 Months Probation
  • Community Service Hours
  • Driver’s Improvement Course
  • Court Fees
  • $50 Cost of Prosecution
  • $50 Cost of Investigation

In addition to the above consequences, the State may ask for additional conditions for a conviction of reckless driving.

Reduction to Reckless “Wet” Driving

A DUI reduction to reckless “wet” driving (“wet reckless”) will result in:

  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • Community Service Hours
  • Vehicle Impoundment
  • Alcohol / Substance Abuse Education Course (ASEC)
  • Victim Awareness Program
  • No Drugs or Alcohol
  • Random Urinalysis Tests
  • Fines & Court Fees
  • $50 Cost of Prosecution
  • $50 Cost of Investigation

In addition to the above consequences, the State may ask for additional conditions for a conviction of wet reckless.

Charge for DUI (Below 0.15)

A conviction for DUI below 0.15 will result in:

  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • Community Service Hours
  • Vehicle Impoundment
  • Alcohol / Substance Abuse Education Course (ASEC)
  • Victim Awareness Program
  • Driver’s License Suspension
  • No Drugs or Alcohol
  • Random Urinalysis Tests
  • Fines & Court Fees
  • $50 Cost of Prosecution
  • $50 Cost of Investigation

In addition to the above consequences, the State may ask for additional conditions for a DUI below 0.15 conviction.

Charge for DUI (Enhanced)

An enhanced DUI conviction will result in:

  • 6 to 12 Months Probation
  • Community Service Hours
  • Vehicle Impoundment
  • Alcohol / Substance Abuse Education Course (ASEC)
  • Victim Awareness Program
  • Driver’s License Suspension
  • Vehicle Interlock Device
  • No Drugs or Alcohol
  • Random Urinalysis Tests
  • Fines & Court Fees
  • $50 Cost of Prosecution
  • $50 Cost of Investigation

In addition to the above consequences, the State may ask for additional conditions for an enhanced DUI conviction.

90%
Out of 325 DUI cases, 292 (90%) were reduced from a DUI to a less serious offense or had their charges dismissed!

Call a DUI Lawyer in Daytona Beach

If you’ve been arrested for driving under the influence, a Florida DUI attorney can help. At Aaron Delgado & Associates, we know how devastating a DUI charge can be. That’s why our lawyers work around the clock to help those arrested for DUI in Daytona Beach, DeLand, and the surrounding areas. If you need a DUI lawyer, please do not hesitate to contact our office. Our lawyers are available for emergency calls 24/7, 365 days a year at 386-222-6677.

Free Consultation Start Your Case Online
386.222.6677