Driving Under the Influence (DUI) laws in the State of Florida have been created to be particularly harsh, in an effort to deter Floridians from even considering getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. The penalties of DUI laws in Florida are highly variable depending on several factors, including: the number of previous DUI convictions, BAC level, and whether or not the driver had any passengers (particularly minors). DUI enhancements like a BAC over 0.15 or having a minor in the vehicle at the time of arrest can take a misdemeanor and bump it up to a felony, which has its own, even more draconian penalties.
At its most basic, a DUI is proved in Florida by the driver’s impairment of "normal faculties" (tested with a field sobriety test), or unlawful breath alcohol level of .08 or above. If this is your first DUI offense, you can expect fines between $500-2000 (if your BAC is over 0.15 or you have a minor in the car, you can expect fines between $2000-4000). Additionally, first time offenders will be required to serve 50 hours of community service and less than 1 year of probation.
If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or a controlled substance, it is important to hire an attorney as soon as possible. Call 386.222.6677 to discuss your rights and options with an experienced DUI lawyer at Delgado & Romanik. We have law offices in Daytona Beach and DeLand. We offer a free initial consultation.
Hello there, have a question? Text us here.