Is a DUI a Criminal Offense?

by Aaron Delgado
October 11th, 2018

In the State of Florida, Driving Under the Influence (DUI) of alcohol or controlled substances is viewed as a serious criminal offense. Even if you are ultimately found not guilty of the charge, you may still find yourself without your drivers license for months. Learning more about the serious impact that even your first DUI arrest can have on your life will hopefully make everyone think twice before getting behind the wheel after drinking alcohol or consuming drugs.

The severity of the punishment received in a DUI case is dependent on several factors, including:

  • Number of previous DUI convictions
  • Were there passengers in the car?
  • Was the intoxicated driver driving dangerously
  • BAC level (the amount of alcohol in the bloodstream)

Generally speaking, a first or second DUI offense will be considered a misdemeanor. A third offense in over a 10 year period will also be viewed as a misdemeanor on your criminal record, and penalties can include up to a year in jail, thousands of dollars in fines, and a loss of license for up to 5 years. However, 3 or more DUI convictions in less than a 10 year period is considered a third degree felony, and can include up to 5 years imprisonment, thousands of dollars in fines, loss of drivers license for up to 10 years (if not permanently), and up to 5 years of probation with Interlock Ignition Device on all vehicles.

If you have been charged with DUI, it is important to hire an attorney as soon as possible. Call 386-492-8694 to discuss your rights and options with an experienced DUI lawyer at Delgado & Romanik. We have law offices in Daytona Beach and DeLand and we offer a free initial consultation.

Free Consultation Free Consultation
  • 10+ Years Combined Legal Experience
  • 24/7 Support
  • Top Rated Criminal and Injury Attorneys
  • Board Certified Florida Bar Expert Trial Lawyers